Let’s Talk About Sacrifices Parents Make

Some nights where I lay restlessly in my bed, my mind runs a mile a minute and all these various events that either is happening or happened in my life would pass across my mind. And I would think about all the sacrifices my parents made just for myself and my siblings to be happy. I am eternally ever grateful for everything they did for our benefit.

I can shamefully say that at one point in my life I did not appreciate everything they did. At that time I just thought that it was normal, that it was the responsibility of my parents to make me happy. When I moved to the U.S. and my family went through a rough patch,  I awoke from this sleep and smelled the coffee.

I went to high school in the U.S. and experience the difference in how my parents cocoon and shelter me from the harshness of life than the parents of my fellow classmates. Some of them worked after classes and by the age of 18 was put out of their homes to fend for themselves. I am older than 18 and still live with my parents, who provides for me.

There is this saying that goes something like, “when you think you have life hard, know that there are other people experiencing worst than what you are going through” and I totally agree with it. 

I know some parents don’t like to share their struggles with their children but as much as mine tries, I can see it in their tired eyes and how hard they work. I can see it when we go out and they put their necessities behind ours, I can see it when others boast infort of us and they would say someday we would have the same and I can see it when we try to make ends meet with what little we have.

I also know of some children who are ungrateful of the sacrifices their parents made and when they grow older, they forget about the people who made it possible to be who they are. 

We as a family are still going through a rough patch and the sacrifices my parents are making for my future makes me feel helpless. I cannot wait for the day when I can repay them for all that they did and I hoped that, that day comes before life catches up with them.

Leave a comment